DEUTSCH
  1. Creativity in a commercial environment

    When developing marketable products, designers and marketers have to navigate the wide terrain between creative quality and economic feasibility. The challenging task is to synchronise the creative approach and the commercial management in order to optimize the customer experience.

    The Fashion Practice Academy Berlin has been founded to introduce current scientific approaches and tools with direct practical applicability for Students and Professionals in the fashion industry.

  2. About you...

    You appreciate the value of linking authentically and convincingly an inspiration or concept to a marketable product. As a commercial decision-maker, a designer or a student, you know it is crucial to adapt the essence of an idea to the requirements of the respective target group during all development stages but always retain authenticity.

    You are looking for:

    • CONSULTATION to optimise or expand your product range,
    • SUPPORT to establish a team, set up an organisational structure or on the latest issues of business management,
    • MENTORING or COACHING to help you, your team members or students in personal development planning, career choices and professional processes.
  3. About me...

    I see myself as a sparring partner and guide to the alliance of creative design and implementation.

    Design feasibility in commercial systems has been a focus of my professional work for over 25 years. As a fashion designer, I know the demands of target group-oriented design concepts; as a management expert, I see the need for corporate control. My work in various management positions has taught me how to profitably synchronise creative and economic interests. I would be delighted to share my rich experience with you.

    Detailed information on my areas of expertise can be found here:

  4. About us...

    Lectures, seminars or individual guidance – please contact me for a non-comittal discussion about the best way to support you.

    Hands-on, confidential and honest!

  5. Feedback...

    … on the workshop ‘Creative identity in commercial environments – how much design is too much design?’:

    “[…] the workshop was the highlight of the semester for me! I would love it if you could hold presentations for us more often”. – Sandra Oberoi, Student of Industrial Design at Masterstudio Design, Basel, Switzerland

    “[…] your workshop unusually generated unanimous positive reactions. Both, your wealth of professional experience and practicality both played a major role in students’ feedback. They were also impressed by your ability to present the content in a way that was not merely understandable, but also fascinating and which motivated them to collaborate”. – Prof. Dr. Regine Halter, Academy of Art and Design, Basel, Switzerland

    … on a series of lectures on the issue of ‘creativity and commerce’ in the field of fashion design:

    “[…] the audience was enthralled by your professionalism and expertise […]. The presentation format and content, but most of all your very personal and motivational character, made your lectures extremely compelling…” – Martina Vogt, head of Fashion Design department, Lette-Verein, Berlin, Germany

Privacy Policy Legal Disclosure © 2019 Oliver MacConnell. All rights reserved.

ENGLISH
  1. Über Kreativität im kommerziellen Umfeld

    Vom Entwurf bis zur Realisierung eines marktfähigen Produktes bewegen sich Produktmanager, Designer und Entwickler im Überschneidungsraum von Kundenwünschen, wirtschaftlicher Machbarkeit und gestalterischem Anspruch.

    Es geht um die Frage: Wie kann der kreative Prozess und die kaufmännische Steuerung maximal zielführend und ausgewogen so miteinander kombiniert werden, dass die Kunden von dem Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit den bestmöglichen Nutzen haben?

    Die 2015 gegründete Fashion Practice Academy widmet sich dieser Fragestellung. Fokus aller Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen ist die praxisnahe Vermittlung marktrelevanter, wissenschaftlicher Ansätze aus den Bereichen Trend-, Mode- und Konsumentenforschung an Nachwuchs- und Führungskräfte der Textilindustrie.

  2. About you...

    Als Entscheider in der Wirtschaft/in der Lehre, als Designer oder Student an einer Hochschule legen Sie Wert darauf, eine Inspiration oder Idee authentisch und überzeugend an ein marktadäquates Produkt zu koppeln. In allen Phasen der Angebotsentwicklung ist es Ihnen wichtig, die ursprüngliche Idee in der Kernaussage unverfälscht an die Bedürfnisse der jeweiligen Zielgruppe anzupassen.

    Sie wünschen sich:

    • BERATUNG bei der Produkt-/Sortimentskonzeption oder bei der Weiterentwicklung Ihres Angebotsportfolios,
    • UNTERSTÜTZUNG beim Aufbau eines Teams, einer Organisationsstruktur oder in Fragen der Personal- und Unternehmensführung,
    • PROZESSBEGLEITUNG (Mentoring/Coaching) bei beruflichen oder privaten Veränderungen für sich selber, Ihre Mitarbeiter oder Studenten.
  3. About me...

    Sowohl in der Beratung als auch in der Lehre verstehe ich mich als Sparringspartner und Wegbegleiter an der Schnittstelle von kreativer Konzeption und Realisierung.

    Die Machbarkeit von Design in kommerziellen Systemen ist seit über 25 Jahren Schwerpunkt meiner beruflichen Tätigkeit. Als Modedesigner kenne ich die Anforderungen an eine zielgruppengenaue Designkonzeption; als Unternehmer sehe ich die Notwendigkeit der betriebswirtschaftlichen Steuerung. In unterschiedlichen Führungspositionen habe ich gelernt, kreative und wirtschaftliche Prozesse gewinnbringend zu synchronisieren und freue mich darauf, meine Erfahrungen mit Ihnen zu teilen.

    Ausführliche Informationen zu meinem Werdegang finden Sie hier:

  4. About us...

    Vortrag, Seminar, Einzelbegleitung oder Mentorat – lassen Sie uns unverbindlich darüber reden, wie ich Sie am besten unterstützen kann.

    Praxisnah, vertrauensvoll, ehrlich!

  5. Reaktionen...

    … zum Workshop „Kreative Identität im kommerziellen Umfeld – Wie viel Design verträgt Design?“:

    „[...] Der Workshop war mein Highlight des Semesters! Ich würde mich freuen, wenn Du öfters eine Veranstaltung bei uns leiten könntest.“ – Sandra Oberoi, Studentin ‘Industrial Design’ am Masterstudio Design, Basel

    „[...] Der von Ihnen durchgeführte Workshop hat bei den beteiligten Studierenden in ungewohnt einhelliger Weise positive Reaktionen hervorgerufen. Im Feedback der Studierenden spielten einerseits Ihr beruflicher Erfahrungsschatz wie auch Ihre Praxisorientierung eine große Rolle. Hinzu kam jedoch Ihre Fähigkeit, die zur Diskussion gestellten Inhalte nicht nur nachvollziehbar, sondern auch spannend und zur Mitarbeit motivierend zu vermitteln.“ – Prof. Dr. Regine Halter, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst, Basel

    … zur Vortragsreihe über das Spannungsfeld ‘Kreativität und Kommerz’ im Bereich des Modedesigns:

    „[...] Sie konnten Ihre Zuhörer durch Ihre Professionalität und Ihr Knowhow [...] begeistern. Ihre Vorträge überzeugten sowohl von der Präsentationsform als auch von den Inhalten, aber vor allem durch Ihre sehr persönliche und motivierende Art…“ – Martina Vogt, Abteilungsleiterin Modedesign, Lette-Verein, Berlin

Impressum © 2016 Oliver MacConnell. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.